top of page
  • Writer's picturebabyledeating

Beetroot & apple balls


I picked up some steamed beetroot at the supermarket this weekend and I noticed a battered looking apple in the fruit bowl, so I thought I’d include them both in Joshua’s dinner today. I took some general inspiration from my previous quinoa ball and cheese ball recipes, but I totally made this recipe up as I went along and hoped it would turn out fine. Luckily it did - Joshua was a big fan and ate all three I served him for his dinner before touching anything else on his plate. The ingredients I used were... - 1/2 cup of oats (1/2 cup of fresh breadcrumbs would probably work well too) - 1/2 cup of cooked quinoa - 3 cooked beetroot (approx 190g). (I think raw beetroot might also work as it should cook in the oven, but I haven’t tried it) - 1/2 apple - 4 tablespoons of feta, crumbled (other grated cheese would also work) - 1 egg, beaten - 1cm fresh ginger, grated - Fresh mint, finely chopped To make... - Blitz your oats into a coarse power (or blitz fresh bread into breadcrumbs) in a food processor. - Grate the apple and beetroot. If possible use the grater attachment in a food processor rather than hand grating otherwise you risk getting very messy with all the beetroot juice! - Squeeze the excess liquid out of the apple and beetroot. If possible use a muslin or an old (clean) tea towel to do this (but beware, beetroot juice stains) - Mix all ingredients together in a bowl - Shape into balls and place on an oiled tray (wet hands will help) - Spray the balls with a little more oil, or carefully roll them in the oil on the tray - Bake at 180’C for 15-20 mins, carefully turning them over halfway Eat fresh, refrigerate or freeze Enjoy x

364 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page