top of page
  • Writer's picturebabyledeating

Courgette & spinach bombs


This dish is inspired by the courgette polpette recipe from the River Cottage Baby & Toddler cookbook. I’ve made it a few times before, varying the ingredients slightly depending on what I have in the fridge, and it’s always a winner with Joshua.

I think polpette means meatballs in Italian, but as these are veggie, and they don’t look like meatballs, and not many people will know what polpette means, I wanted to use a different name. I definitely overuse names like ‘bite’ and ‘ball’ in my recipe posts, plus these are pretty rustic looking, so I chose bomb instead as they look like mini explosions! Lol!! The original recipe just calls for courgette but I also added spinach and broccoli for variety and added nutrition. I’m sure other veg, such as aubergine, would work well too. Previously I’ve also used flour instead of breadcrumbs, and just cheddar instead of Parmesan and mozzarella and both worked well. The ingredients I used are... - 500g (total) of courgette (finely diced), broccoli (cooked and chopped), and spinach (chopped) - 1 egg, beaten - 2 tablespoons of Parmesan, finely grated - 70g mozzarella, diced - 50g breadcrumbs - zest of half a lemon - 1 garlic clove, chopped - 1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped To make... - fry the courgettes in a little oil until soft and golden - combine with all ingredients - place spoonfuls of the mix on a greased baking tray - bake for 15-20mi s at 180’C until golden Serve warm or at room temperature. Eat fresh, refrigerate or freeze Enjoy x


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page