top of page
  • Writer's picturebabyledeating

Potato cakes


I often serve up roasted potato fingers or veggie tots for Joshua, but they tend to be quite soft in texture and I wanted to make something potato based which had a bit more bite. Then I saw a recipe for potato and chive waffles by @whatiateforbreakfast which looked perfect - firm and crispy around the edges, so this recipe is inspired by that delicious dish. The ingredients I used were... - mashed potato (with no added extras like milk or butter, just plain old potato which had been mashed) - grated cheese - an egg, beaten - breadcrumbs - vegetables, cooked and chopped (I used broccoli and kale) - red pesto To make... - mix all the ingredients together - shape into flat rounds on a well greased tray (I spooned the mix into a cookie cutter and pushed it flat with my finger to get a consistent shape) - spray or brush with a little oil - bake at 180’C for 15 minutes or until starting to get crisp and golden - carefully turn them over using a spatula / fish slice (spray or brush with a little more oil if required) - bake for a further 5 minutes until golden and crisp on both sides Eat fresh from the oven, refrigerate or freeze, warming through again before serving.

(To reheat after refrigerating I briefly panfried the potato cakes in a lightly greased frying pan to give them their slightly crispy outer coating again, but you could probably grill or oven bake, or even microwave but that wouldn’t give a crispy coating) Enjoy x


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page