top of page
  • Writer's picturebabyledeating

Creamy coconut curry


I've been wanting to make a curry for Joshua for ages and I initially looked in some of my BLW cookbooks for inspiration and recipe ideas, but I was disappointed to see that lots of the recipes included ‘curry paste’ as an ingredient. I always think this is a bit of a cop out - surely if I’m reading a recipe I want to see actual ingredients, and if I’m using a paste then I don’t need a recipe in the first place!! (Rant over!!) so I decided to make up my own recipe!! I was really really pleased with how it turned out. Joshua loved it too and finished off the whole bowlful mixed with rice. It has a lovely rich creamy flavour but it is also light enough for babies who aren’t yet used to spicy food. I served it mixed with rice and small chunks of pan-fried paneer. The ingredients below make enough for one serving, so bulk it up if you want to make more or want to add to your freezer stocks. Ingredients... - 1/2 onion, finely chopped - 1/2 red pepper, finely chopped - A few lumps of frozen spinach, or two large handfuls of fresh spinach chopped - 3 heaped tablespoons of coconut milk (the creamy thick bit) - 1 garlic clove - grated or crushed - fresh ginger, half the size of your little finger, grated - 1/8 teaspoon ground cumin - 1/8 teaspoon ground coriander - 1/4 teaspoon garam masala - 1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric To make... - cook the onion and pepper in a little oil until they are starting to soften - add the spices, garlic and ginger and stir for a minute - add the coconut milk and spinach - stir until the spinach has defrosted/wilted, and the veg is soft Serve fresh with rice, refrigerate or freeze. Enjoy x NOTE: turmeric stains!!! So make sure your little one isn’t wearing their best clothes when eating this, and beware of their grubby hands and food-throwing skills too!!

363 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page