top of page
  • Writer's picturebabyledeating

Mexican beanburgers


During the recent warm spring weather we’ve been enjoying we’ve been having more BBQs. As a vegetarian I always opt for a spicy bean burger and they’re so yummy I wanted to make some for Joshua. I checked out the main ingredients of the supermarket brand I usually buy to get an idea of the essential components and then I made these up based on what I had in the house and the overall flavour and texture I wanted. Luckily they turned out great!! The mix below made enough for 14 mini burgers / sliders for Joshua and 2 normal sized burgers for us! They’re great for babies and toddlers as they’re a perfect texture to hold and chew. They’re also a great source of healthy carbs from the potato, protein from the beans and are packed full of veg, and they have a nice mild spicy flavour for introducing baby tastebuds to new flavours. The burger ingredients are... - 200g sweet potato, cooked (steamed/boiled) and mashed - 100g breadcrumbs - 120g black beans - 50g sweetcorn - 50g edemame beans - 50g red pepper, finely chopped and sautéed - 2 spring onions, chopped - 1 egg, beaten (optional) - Handful of fresh coriander, chopped - 1 tablespoon tomato purée - 1/2 teaspoon paprika - 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin - 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander - 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder For coating the burgers... - plain flour - coarse polenta / corn meal To make... - mix all the burger ingredients together - refrigerate the mix for 30mins+ - mix the flour and polenta in a shallow dish or plate - shape the burger mix into small patties (wet hands will help this process) - coat each patty with the flour and polenta mix - cook the patties in a frying pan with a little oil until golden and crisp, turning over half way Eat fresh, refrigerate or freeze. Warm through in the oven or on a dry frying pan before serving. Enjoy x Note: I added egg to my mix as I thought it would help the mix to firm up when cooked. It made the mix quite wet, but it did firm up well. I haven’t tried the recipe without egg, but I think it would work fine.

381 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page