top of page
  • Writer's picturebabyledeating

Spanakopita fingers


I was making a Spanakopita pie for a meal with friends and decided to make some mini hand-held versions for Joshua. Spanakopita is a delicious Greek dish made of spinach, ricotta, feta and filo pastry and it’s my go-to dish to make when we have friends round for dinner. To make the filling I sautéed leek, onion and garlic and then cooked and squeezed dry loads of spinach (I used frozen spinach as it goes further). Then I mixed it all together along with some ricotta cheese, crumbled feta cheese, grated Parmesan, a big bunch of chopped dill, a big bunch of chopped parsley and a couple of eggs. I made our adult version as one big pie in an oven-proof dish and served it with rosemary roasted new potatoes and Caprese salad. To make Joshua’s mini finger versions I took strips of the filo pastry, brushed them with melted butter, placed a tablespoon of the spinach mix at one end and rolled them up. I brushed the fingers with more butter and then baked them at 180’C for approx 15 minutes until golden and crisp.

Eat fresh from the oven, refrigerate or freeze reheating in the oven before serving. Enjoy x Ps. It was a spur of the moment decision to make these fingers for Joshua hence why there are no method photos.

325 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page